March 25, 2023

News 24a

News that matters

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2022. The winner will be announced today

The announcement of this year’s Nobel prize winners will begin on Monday with the category of medicine or physiology, DPA informs.

The Nobel Committee at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm is to reveal to whom it will award this year’s Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology.

The first Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine was awarded, in 1901, to the German physician Emil Adolf von Behring (1854-1917) for research on serotherapy and the discovery of anti-diphtheria serum, which opened a new path in medical science and helped save hundreds of lives for thousands of lives. The prize was later awarded for a series of discoveries made in the fields of immunology, diagnostics and drug development, as humanity continues to fight disease and death.

To date, 112 Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine have been awarded. Of the 224 awardees, 12 are women. The youngest laureate of this award, Frederick G. Banting, was 32 years old when the award was given to him, and the oldest, Peyton Rous, 87 years old, according to Agerpres.

Among the laureates of the Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine are: Ivan Pavlov (1904, for the physiology of digestion and the creation of a science of conditioned reflexes); Robert Koch (1905, for investigations and discoveries regarding tuberculosis); Theodor Kocher (1909, for research in the physiology, pathology and surgery of the thyroid gland); Alexis Carrel (1912, for studies in vascular suture and transplantation of blood vessels and organs); Karl Landsteiner (1930, for the discovery of human blood groups); Sir Henry Hallett Dale and Otto Loewi (1936, for discoveries related to the chemical transmission of nerve impulses); Sir Alexander Fleming, Ernst Boris Chain, Sir Howard Walter Florey (1945, for the discovery of penicillin and its curative effect in various infectious diseases); Selman Abraham Waksman (1952, for the discovery of streptomycin, the first antibiotic against tuberculosis); Albert Claude, Christian de Duve, George E. Palade (1974, for their discoveries regarding the structural and functional organization of the cell).

Read also

Dmitry Muratov

Who won last year’s prize for medicine

Last year, American researchers David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian were named laureates of the Nobel Prize for medicine for “the discovery of temperature and touch receptors”, according to the announcement of the Nobel Committee.

Each Nobel Prize is accompanied by a check worth 10 million Swedish kroner (US$900,000).

When will the winners in the other categories be announced?

The Nobel Prize for Medicine traditionally kicks off the series of annual announcements of the most prestigious prizes in the world, at the beginning of October, according to Agerpres.

On Tuesday and Wednesday, the Nobel prizes for physics and chemistry, respectively, will be announced, while on Thursday and Friday, the winners of the awards for literature and peace, respectively, will be announced. The last prize, the one for the economy, will be announced next week, on Monday, but it is not based on the last wish of the one who initiated these prizes, the Swedish industrial magnate Alfred Nobel (1833-1896), the inventor of dynamite.

The prizes will be awarded on December 10, the day on which Alfred Nobel’s death is commemorated.

Source link